top of page

Skills Assessment

Image by Branko Stancevic

It is an important part of migration step for a positive skills assessment if you applying for general skilled migration or employer sponsor visa programs in Australia.

Skills assessments is an accessing authorities in Australia accessing the applicant’s employment experiences and qualification against the nominated occupation.

The list below shows the visas that required an applicant to go for a skills assessment:
  • Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) visa (subclass 186)

  • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) visa (subclass 187)

  • Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) – Points-tested stream

  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491)

  • Skilled Employer-Sponsored Regional (provisional) visa (subclass 494)

  • Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)

  • Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa (subclass 482)

The following are the example of authorized accessing body:


Applicant need to make sure to fulfil all the requirements required to obtain a positive skills assessment. As different accessing authorities have different requirement for skill assessment, own process, procedures, criteria, timeframes and charges.

bottom of page