top of page


Victoria is a state in southeastern Australia that occupies the continent's hilly coastline area. It is the smallest state on Australia’s mainland.


The Murray River separates Victoria from New South Wales to the north, as does an extra barrier of Cape Howe. It was founded in 1834 and split from New South Wales in 1851,after gold was discovered in Ballarat and Bendigo. Melbourne, its capital, is Australia's fastest growing metropolis, with colonial and modern architecture, stunning botanical parks, outstanding restaurants, and a thriving cultural community. Melbourne is also known as Australia's sporting capital, and each November hosts the most famous horse race in the country, the Melbourne Cup. The High Country of Victoria has some of the greatest mountain climbing on the continent.

bottom of page